Skip to product information
1 of 2

When Music Resounds, The Soul Is Spoken To - Herbert Blomste

When Music Resounds, The Soul Is Spoken To - Herbert Blomste

Regular price $26.99 USD
Regular price $26.99 USD Sale price $26.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Herbert Blomstedt is omnipresent on the concert stages of this world. Where others have been enjoying their retirement for decades, the 95-year-old continues to tour the globe as conductor of numerous top orchestras and, in doing so, seems to defy biological laws. His esprit for conducting even seems to have grown over the years; his art, musical ethics, and empathy in dealing with people in general and with orchestra musicians, in particular, have long since made him a living legend.

The feature-length film portrait When Music Resounds, the Soul Is Spoken To was created between his 90th and 95th birthdays. It accompanies Herbert Blomstedt in his work with selected orchestras, which are representative of the many international ensembles he has either led or with which he still works regularly, and observes the gifted communicator during rehearsals and concerts. Blomstedt vividly conveys his clear interpretive ideas, turning every orchestra rehearsal into an experience. When Music Resounds, the Soul Is Spoken To also illuminates the career of the American-born cosmopolitan, who left his Christian and musically influenced home in Sweden to conquer the international concert halls. The film deliberately avoids statements by third parties; only the exceptional artist himself has his say. He shares personal experiences, gives insight into his musical world of thoughts and life, and conveys deeply human insights from a career spanning over 70 years. As an exciting discourse on life philosophies, musical life and experiences as a musician, the film is a portrait of an unpretentious artist who has decisively shaped the classical music world for decades and continues to do so to this day.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 03, 2023

  • UPC: 4260234832822

  • Catalog Number: ACC20417

  • Label: ACCENTUS Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Various

  • Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Wiener Philharmoniker

  • Performer: Paul Smaczny