Skip to product information
1 of 2

Vulnerasti Cor Meum - Motets From The Song Of Songs I Disinvolti, Massimo Lombardi

Vulnerasti Cor Meum - Motets From The Song Of Songs I Disinvolti, Massimo Lombardi

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Vulnerasti cor meum" literally translates as "You have wounded my heart" – which is not only the most classic of amorous metaphors, but also one of the most celebrated to be featured in the Song of Songs. In this, perhaps the greatest love poem in the history of literature, the two central characters of the story exchange promises of love that are pervaded by sensual metaphors and passionate similes verging on the erotic, in a style that lies on the border between the sacred and the secular.
Accordingly, a similar blend marks the compositional style of the pieces proposed in this anthology, all based on texts drawn from the famous canticle. In these works, the boundary between motet and madrigal is blurred and impalpable, inviting and inspiring audacious readings that are more characteristic of secular music.

After the excellent reviews of their debut recording dedicated to Rigatti ("…the music making of I Disinvolti’s three male voices and continuo players is exceptional", David Vickers, Gramophone), this is the second disc of the ensemble i Disinvolti. Included are twelve unfamiliar works, here given world premiere recordings.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 22, 2024

  • UPC: 3760195735626

  • Catalog Number: A562

  • Label: Arcana

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Various

  • Conductor: Massimo Lombardi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: i Disinvolti

  • Performer: I Disinvolti, Massimo Lombardi