Skip to product information
1 of 3

Vivaldi: La Stravaganza, Op. 4 - Transcriptions For Organ

Vivaldi: La Stravaganza, Op. 4 - Transcriptions For Organ

Regular price $13.99 USD
Regular price $13.99 USD Sale price $13.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This CD presents Violin Concertos from Vivaldi’s La Stravaganza Op. 4, transcribed for organ. These are contained in the collection known as Anne Dawson's Book and kept at the Henry Watson Music Library in Manchester (UK). The collection, compiled around 1720, contains, in addition to arias for voice and basso continuo, a number of compositions for keyboard instrument along with several transcriptions of concertos by various composers, including 10 by Vivaldi. They are closely related to the original score and show an evident process of adaptation to the possibilities and idiom of the keyboard instrument.

Organist Luca Scandali is one of Italy’s foremost scholars and keyboard players. For Brilliant Classics he recorded the complete organ works by C.P.E. Bach (nominated for the Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik), Galuppi, Pasquini, Pellegrini and Padovano. He plays the Gaetano Callido organ from 1774 at the Church of San Venanzo, Albacina, Italy.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 24, 2023

  • UPC: 5028421966144

  • Catalog Number: BRI96614

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Performer: Luca Scandali