Skip to product information
1 of 2

Villa-Lobos: Complete Symphonies [6 CDs]

Villa-Lobos: Complete Symphonies [6 CDs]

Regular price $53.99 USD
Regular price $53.99 USD Sale price $53.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Heitor Villa-Lobos has been described as ‘the single most significant creative figure in 20th-century Brazilian art music.’ The eleven symphonies- the enigmatic Symphony No. 5 has never been found and may not ever have been written- range from the two earliest, conceived in a broadly central Central European tradition, to the final symphony No. 12 which is notable for its explosive energy, harmonic richness and rhythmic vitality. Every aspect of Villa-Lobos’s remarkable inspiration is represented in these works, with Brazilian national rhythms and extremes of ambition in terms of scale and dramatic content, alongside neo-Classical transparency and lyrical charm. These critically acclaimed performances from São Paulo are both idiomatic and expertly played.

Past praise from reviews of previously released volumes included in this set:

Villa-Lobos: Symphonies Nos. 8, 9 & 11 / Karabtchevsky, São Paulo Symphony:

Karabtchevsky's sure-footed pacing conveys a deep understanding of these scores. The orchestra is wonderfully on point, which makes an enormous difference in music as finely shaded as this. An absolutely essential release.

– Gramophone

Villa-Lobos: Symphony No 12, Etc. / Karabtchevsky, São Paulo Symphony:

The playing of the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Isaac Karabtchevsky is very accomplished. The singing of the São Paulo Symphony Choir and Children’s Choir is also excellent, with the juxtaposition between the adults and children working well. Good notes and recorded sound also add to the enjoyment of this fine recording.

– MusicWeb International

Villa-Lobos: Symphonies No 6 & 7 / Karabtchevsky, Sao Paulo Symphony:

Karabtchevsky’s performances here are persuasive. He’s different enough from St. Clair, marginally slower but arguably to the music’s advantage in the numerous thickly textured passages, that there’s no reason not to collect this new series. The sonics are rich, full, and remarkably clear given the music’s density.


View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 6
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Naxos CD Box Set
    • UPC/Barcode: 747313603930
    • Item Number: 8506039