Skip to product information
1 of 2

V2: Christmas Cantatas

V2: Christmas Cantatas

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The three cantatas brought together here are from Telemann’s last printed annual cycle, which was published in Hermsdorf (near Hirschberg), Silesia, in 1749. Each cantata has a title page indicating the particular Sunday, registering the ensemble parts under it, and displaying a decorative figure modeled on a putto as an ornament on the lower half of the page. Since the putto was also understood as an angel, the cycle came to be known as the »Engel-Jahrgang« (Angel Cycle). In addition, the title contains a pithy motto that seems to be referring to Telemann: »You glorify the sweet harmony of the art of music and sanctify it.« As in his other annual cycles issued in printed form, the compositions were presented in Hamburg churches prior to their publication or along with it. These are joyful works of dancy verve to which Telemann supplied additional splendor in many movements through the use of trumpets.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 07, 2022

  • UPC: 761203516629

  • Catalog Number: 555166-2

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Georg Philipp Telemann

  • Conductor: Ulrich Stötzel

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Siegen Collegium Vocale

  • Performer: Miriam Feuersinger, Franz Vitzthum, Georg Poplutz, Klaus Mertens, Collegium Vocale Siegen, Hannovers