Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tourout, Isaac, & Weerbeke: Flemish Polyphony in Central Eur

Tourout, Isaac, & Weerbeke: Flemish Polyphony in Central Eur

Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price $22.99 USD Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
With the present recording, I continue exploration of the musical culture of central Europe in the 15th and early 16th century, first focused on un-known Flemish composer Johannes Tourout exclusively, now I enlarge the repertoire of his contemporaries Gaspar van Weerbeke and Heinrich Isaac. The structure of the program is following several aspects of this period: Flemish musicians played a central role in the composition and performance of art music and the reception by unknown local authors is very eclectic. The "grey zone" of Anonymous repertoire is hiding real gems of polyphonic composition which aren't discovered yet. Another important phenomenon are compositions substituting original texts with new ones to repurposed them to fit in liturgical context, as it is the case of French chansons - the real hits of late medieval and early modern Europe. Again this recording was very intensive and thrilling musical discovery of richness of Franco-Flemish polyphony in Central Europe region.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 28, 2024

  • UPC: 5425004841339

  • Catalog Number: PAS1133

  • Label: Passacaille

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johannes Tourout, Heinrich Isaac, Gaspar Van Weerbeke

  • Performer: Cappella Mariana, Vojtech Semerad