Skip to product information
1 of 2

Thomas: Complete Duos For Harp & Piano, Vol. 2

Thomas: Complete Duos For Harp & Piano, Vol. 2

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Harpist to Queen Victoria, the Welsh composer John Thomas (1826–1913) wrote prolifically for his own instrument, both for solo harp and for duos of two harps or harp and piano – a combination where the different sounds of the two instruments enhance the clarity of the texture. Thomas’ own compositions use the elegant Romantic style of his own day, but he also left a generous legacy of transcriptions, with no fewer than fourteen Schubert songs recorded on this second volume of his complete duos for harp and piano. Although some of his music was intended for the Victorian drawing room, other pieces require a virtuoso technique – and all of it has a thoroughly engaging melodic appeal.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 02, 2023

  • UPC: 5060113445667

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0566

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: August Heinrich von Weyrauch, John Thomas, Frederic Chopin, Gaetano Donizetti, Nikolaus Scholl, Franz Schubert

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Duo Praxedis

  • Performer: Praxedis Hug-Rutti, Praxedis Genevieve Hug