Skip to product information
1 of 1

Theme - Variation David Rogosin

Theme - Variation David Rogosin

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Theme: Variation – traces an arc spanning 400 years of composition, beginning with Orlando Gibbons’ The Italian Ground ca. 1605, and culminating in Variations on a Fantasia of J.S. Bach (2017), an original work from Rogosin’s friend Kevin Morse. The result is an album whose explorative gusto is matched by its sweeping scope. Theme: Variation – sees Rogosin navigate through hundreds of years of compositional variation with aplomb, from Handel to Bach, Beethoven, and Chopin, and on to Milton Babbitt. The liner notes, found in the accompanying iTunes booklet and written by Rogosin, are an indispensable companion as you listen through the record. Rogosin meticulously explains the variations and technical underpinnings of each track while highlighting important or noteworthy nuggets for the discerning listener to catch. Interspersed with technical explanations are personal asides, offering insights or anecdotes surrounding his relationship with the composition.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 03, 2023

  • UPC: 615499526728

  • Catalog Number: LM251

  • Label: Leaf Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Milton Babbitt, Ludwig van Beethoven, Frederic Chopin, Orlando Gibbons, George Frideric Handel, Kevin Morse, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Performer: David Rogosin