Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Launy Grondahl Legacy, Vol. 7

The Launy Grondahl Legacy, Vol. 7

Regular price $36.99 USD
Regular price $36.99 USD Sale price $36.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Three major additions to the Grøndahl discography, newly recovered from the archives of Danish radio, remastered from the original tapes and released here for the first time. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto and the first two movements of Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major Symphony confirm what an exhilarating interpreter Grøndahl was of the Austro-German classics. A Danish-language version of Rimsky-Korsakov’s neoclassically styled tragi-comedy on the subject of Mozart and Salieri complements a celebrated account of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, given on the occasion of Grøndahl’s belated UK debut in September 1951.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 03, 2023

  • UPC: 5709499887004

  • Catalog Number: DACOCD887

  • Label: Danacord Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Carl Nielsen, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Franz Schubert, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Launy Grondahl

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra;

  • Performer: Adolf Busch, Christian Blanke, Henry Skjaer, Victor Schioler