Skip to product information
1 of 3

The Ghosts Of Versailles

The Ghosts Of Versailles

Regular price $40.99 USD
Regular price $40.99 USD Sale price $40.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.


In purgatory, the Ghosts of Versailles are waiting impatiently for Beaumarchais’ new play: what if he manages to save Marie Antoinette from the scaffold? Here is Count Almaviva, the famous Figaro, but also Rosina and Cherubino, plunged into a thousand twists and turns to make the famous Queen’s Necklace disappear, thwarting the spies of the Revolution. But the situation escapes its creator, and Beaumarchais must himself become involved in the trial of the Queen – with whom he is in love? With assumed brio, Corigliano’s music navigates between Mozart and Rossini, and takes the audience into an unexpected opera, all the characters of which are familiar to us! The Ghosts of Versailles are indeed there, and will fulfil their destiny once again… This unique opera, triumphantly premiered in 1991 at the Metropolitan Opera of New York, was predestined for to the stage of the Royal Opera of Versailles, for which no doubt Beaumarchais had written this story which goes back in time… Two hundred and fifty years after her marriage in this mythical theatre, will Marie-Antoinette be able to escape her destiny there?

BONUS CONTENT: "Of Rage and Remembrance" - a documentary on Corigliano's Symphony No. 1


Corigliano’s score is a riotous mix of styles — Gilbert & Sullivan, Mozart, Rossini, Strauss, as well as his own — and Joseph Colaneri masterfully blended them into a cohesive whole. The orchestra underpinned all of the madcap escapades, tender love scenes and heartache with shimmering sound.

– Seen and Heard International (Rick Perdian reviewing this production)

At the head of the Royal Opera Orchestra, Joseph Colaneri leads instrumentalists and singers in this complex score, of which he masters the shifting distribution between the different instruments. He also ensures a good sound balance between singers and orchestra, in which the voices are highlighted.

– (Bruno Maury)

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 14, 2021

  • UPC: 3770011431427

  • Catalog Number: CVS036

  • Label: Chateau de Versailles

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Composer: John Corigliano

  • Conductor: Joseph Colaneri

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Opera Orchestra

  • Performer: Benjamin Schaefer, Bryan Wallin, Christian Sanders, Emily Misch, Joanna Latini, Jonathan Bryan, Kayla Siembieda, Peter Morgan, Spencer Britten, Teresa Perrotta