Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Four Quarters

The Four Quarters

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The Solem Quartet has established itself as one of the most innovative, adventurous ensembles of its kind, a reputation cemented by this album, in which movements from The Four Quarters by Thomas Adès are interspersed with pieces by composers from Florence Price to Kate Bush, several of them arranged by the ensemble. In The Four Quarters, Adès charts the course of a day, with the Solem Quartet building a program around this structure so that the whole album becomes a chronological journey. Ivor Gurney and Henry Purcell add to the theme with Sleep and Now does the glorious day appear, while Bartók transports us to An Evening in the Village and Robert Schumann soothes with a Child Falling Asleep. There is folk music in the form of Ca’ the Yowes, to words by Robert Burns, and contemporary works by Cassandra Miller, William Marsey and Aaron Parker. The program is completed by Florence Price’s soulful Summer Moon, and an arrangement of Kate Bush’s And Dream of Sheep.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 17, 2021

  • UPC: 5060189561728

  • Catalog Number: ORC100172

  • Label: Orchid Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Aaron Parker, Béla Bartók, Cassandra Miller, Florence Beatrice Price, Henry Purcell, Kate Bush, Robert Schumann, Thomas Adès, Traditional, William Marsey

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Solem Quartet