Skip to product information
1 of 4

The Deer's Cry: Music of Byrd & Pärt / The Sixteen

The Deer's Cry: Music of Byrd & Pärt / The Sixteen

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The Sixteen and Harry Christophers releases The Deer’s Cry, an intriguing mix of pieces written by composers who lived four centuries apart. Both William Byrd (c. 1540-1623) and Arvo Part (b. 1935), whose work is featured here, are considered masters of sacred music, and both received significant persecution for their work. Compositions of Byrd’s presented here come from the Cantiones Sacrae, and include Tribue, Domine, and Ad Dominum cum tribularer, among others. The pieces on this album by Arvo Part display his unique compositional voice, blending ancient and modern, and include his entrancing Nunc dimittis. The Sixteen’s Choral Pilgrimage tour will take place in 2016, and will bring this programme to 33 cities across the UK, including Oxford, London, Cambridge, York, Cardiff, Manchester, and Edinburgh.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 11, 2016

  • UPC: 828021614026

  • Catalog Number: COR16140

  • Label: CORO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Arvo Pärt, Thomas Tallis, William Byrd

  • Conductor: Harry Christophers

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The Sixteen

  • Performer: Camilla Harris, Emma Brain-Gabbott, Kirsty Hopkins