Skip to product information
1 of 2

Sviridov: Russia Cast Adrift / Dmitri Hvorostovsky

Sviridov: Russia Cast Adrift / Dmitri Hvorostovsky

Regular price $10.99 USD
Regular price $10.99 USD Sale price $10.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

While greatly revered in Russia, the profound and beautiful music of neo-romantic composer Georgy Sviridov (1915-1998) is hardly known beyond his homeland's borders. His predominantly vocal output reflects his strong affinity for many of the finest Russian poets, who inspired him to compose highly idiomatic music to match the emotional intensity and expressive passion of their verses. Thus did Sergei Yesenin's vivid and moving poetry spark the creation of the stunning twelve-song cycle Russia Cast Adrift. Legendary baritone Dmitri Hvorostovsky developed especially strong personal and artistic bonds with Sviridov in the composer's final years, compelling Sviridov to composer specifically for him. Dmitri infuses Sviridov's songs with the same emotional intensity, musical insight and sheer vocal glory that have distinguished his many earlier Delos releases. Joining Dmitri in this world premiere recording of the orchestral version are his long-time collaborators Constantine Orbelian, conducting the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra, and the Russian folk music ensemble Style of Five.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 09, 2017

  • UPC: 013491163123

  • Catalog Number: DE 1631

  • Label: Delos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Georgy Sviridov

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Style of Five, St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Constantine Orbelian, Dmitri Hvorostovsky