Skip to product information
1 of 2

Strauss: Four Last Songs - Laws of Solitude

Strauss: Four Last Songs - Laws of Solitude

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Singer Asmik Grigorian has chosen to record both versions of Richard Strauss's ultimate masterpiece, composed in 1948: the version with orchestra and the much rarer version with piano. For her, this work is associated with the idea of solitude, but not an unhappy solitude, rather a journey towards infinity: "Now all my senses long to sink into slumber. And the soul, unguarded, longs to soar up in freedom, so that, in night’s magic circle, it may live deeply and a thousandfold." writes Hermann Hesse in Beim Schlafengehen (Going to Sleep), the third song in the cycle. For this unique coupling, Asmik is joined by two long-time accomplices: conductor Mikko Franck, with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, and pianist Markus Hinterhauser, artistic director of the Salzburg Festival. The combination of the two versions opens up new sensations: after the well-known abundance of Strauss's orchestration an incredible sensitivity is revealed by the piano version.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • UPC: 3701624510469

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA1046

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Richard Strauss

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France

  • Performer: Asmik Grigorian, Mikko Franck, Markus Hinterhauser