Skip to product information
1 of 3

Steelant: Antwerp Requiem Ca. 1650

Steelant: Antwerp Requiem Ca. 1650

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price $17.99 USD Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

cantoLX, B’Rock Orchestra and conductor Frank Agsteribbe present Antwerp Requiem c. 1650, an album showcasing the exceptional wealth of musical life in Antwerp in the age of Rubens. Philippus van Steelant’s recently-rediscovered Requiem settings are unique in their exuberant splendor, tied to a funerary culture that embraced the glory of life.

B’Rock Orchestra is one of today’s most forward-thinking period orchestras with a desire for encounter and exchange. The ensemble returns to Pentatone after having released Schubert’s complete symphonies with conductor René Jacobs between 2018 and 2022. cantoLX approaches vocal music with stylistic excellence and vocal purity. Their artistic leader Frank Agsteribbe was one of B’Rock’s founders, and brings the two ensembles together for this recording. cantoLX and Agsteribbe both make their Pentatone debut.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 07, 2022

  • UPC: 8717306260060

  • Catalog Number: PTC5187006

  • Label: PENTATONE

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Philippus van Steelant

  • Conductor: Frank Agsterribe

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: cantoLX, B'Rock Orchestra

  • Performer: Frank, B'Rock, Cantolx, Agsteribbe