Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sousa: Music For Wind Band, Vol. 18

Sousa: Music For Wind Band, Vol. 18

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Spanning over 50 years of composition, Volume 18 reveals Sousa to be a master of operetta and the ‘humoresque’ just as much as the marches for which he is still referred the world over. Stag Party depicts a students’ night out via a string of imperishable popular melodies, while Among My Souvenirs sees the song lengthened into a vivid narrative ‘sketch.’ There is also the Incidental Suite from The Charlatan, one of his best-known operettas, and March of the Pan-Americans, Part 2, the national anthem spectacular. Trinity Laban Conservatoire is the UK’s only conservatoire of music and contemporary dance. As a leader in music and contemporary dance education, the conservatoire also provides exciting opportunities for the public to encounter dance and music and access arts health programmes. The staff of the conservatoire deliver unequalled expertise and experience, and their world-class facilities are housed in landmark buildings.



There is a great deal to enjoy here, and the Trinity Laban Wind Orchestra give us exhilarating performances. Much of the music seems tongue-in-cheek, particularly The Stag Party which in the nineteenth century was a student night out and nothing to do with weddings. The Merry-Merry Chorus is recorded, surprisingly, for the first time.

– Lark Reviews
View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Naxos American Classics
    • UPC/Barcode: 636943981221
    • Item Number: 8559812