Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sonnabend: Instrumental & Chamber Works

Sonnabend: Instrumental & Chamber Works

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Dr. Joseph Sonnabend: A Musical Journey Reflecting a Life of Compassion and Innovation Renowned AIDS researcher and clinician Dr. Joseph Sonnabend, who was known for his groundbreaking work in HIV/AIDS research, had a hidden facet of his extraordinary life - as a composer. Despite his illustrious medical career, Joseph Sonnabend's passion for composition remained largely concealed from the public eye. However, with this album, we are invited into his world of instrumental and chamber works, showcasing his exceptional talent and profound musical sensibility. The collection of pieces featured on offers a glimpse into Dr. Sonnabend's rich musical landscape. From piano solos to chamber works, each composition bears the mark of his deep appreciation for chromatic melodies and harmony, influenced by composers such as Alban Berg and Arnold Schoenberg. Collaborator Dr Andrew Toovey, who played a pivotal role in bringing Dr. Sonnabend's compositions to life, reflects on the process: "Working with Joseph on his compositions was certainly a fascinating journey for both of us." Together, they meticulously curated a selection of works, refining unfinished pieces and even commissioning new ones, resulting in a cohesive representation of the Sonnabend soundworld. Listeners can expect to be delighted by the diverse range of compositions, each offering a unique musical experience. Highlights include the Piano Trio, which weaves a chromatic melodic line throughout it's entirety, and "Fluctuations," a mesmerizing solo violin piece that oscillates between reflective and virtuosic passages. In addition to instrumental works, the album features poignant vocal pieces such as the Three Songs for soprano and piano accompaniment, which set a collection of haiku poetry to melodic and emotive music, creating a deeply resonant listening experience. Reflecting on his late-in-life debut as a composer, Dr. Sonnabend's journey comes full circle, encompassing a lifetime of compassion, innovation, and artistic expression. His compositions serve not only as a testament to his musical talent but also as a poignant reminder of his profound response to the HIV/AIDS pandemic, which he tirelessly battled throughout his career. This album is not only a celebration of Dr. Sonnabend's musical legacy but also a tribute to his unwavering commitment to humanity. As listeners embark on discovering this music, they are invited to experience the depth of emotion and the enduring legacy of a remarkable individual. Dr. Joseph Sonnabend (1933-2021) was a pioneering AIDS researcher and clinician, widely respected for his compassionate approach to patient care and his groundbreaking contributions to HIV/AIDS research. In addition to his medical career, Dr. Sonnabend was a prolific composer, whose debut album, "Thoughts and Programme Notes," offers a glimpse into his remarkable musical talent and creative vision.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 14, 2024

  • UPC: 809730112829

  • Catalog Number: DDX21128

  • Label: Divine Art

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Joseph Sonnabend

  • Performer: Xion, Emma Tring, Charles Mutter, Antony Gray, Morgan Hayes, Cora-Marina Lordache, Idlir Shyti