Skip to product information
1 of 1

Schumann: Symphonies / Dresdner Philharmonie

Schumann: Symphonies / Dresdner Philharmonie

Regular price $26.39 USD
Regular price $32.99 USD Sale price $26.39 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Marek Janowski presents Schumann: Complete Symphonies, a comprehensive collection recorded together with the Dresdner Philharmonie. After a fruitful decade as a composer for piano and voice, Schumann then began writing symphonic works in 1841, marking a new phase in his life. Recorded between 2021 and 2023, Janowski interprets Schumann’s symphonies with great vitality and intensity in this release that celebrates the culmination of his tenure as chief conductor with the orchestra.

Marek Janowski is one of the most celebrated conductors of our time. This remarkable recording of Schumann’s complete symphonies follows 2023’s Schubert Unfinished & Great Symphonies (also with the Dresdner Philharmonie), complete recordings of Bruckner, Brahms and Beethoven’s symphonies, several works by Richard Strauss, and Wagner’s ten mature operas. From 2019 to 2023 Janowski was chief conductor and artistic director of the Dresdner Philharmonie, and also realized complete recordings of Beethoven’s Fidelio (2021), Puccini’s Il Tabarro and Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana (both 2020) with the orchestra.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 05, 2024

  • UPC: 827949098963

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186989

  • Label: PENTATONE

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Robert Schumann

  • Conductor: Marek Janowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Dresdner Philharmonie

  • Performer: Dresdner Philharmonie