Skip to product information
1 of 2

Schubert: Symphonies Unfinished & Great

Schubert: Symphonies Unfinished & Great

Regular price $17.59 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $17.59 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Marek Janowski presents his first purely-orchestral Schubert recording, together with the Dresdner Philharmonie, performing the composer’s two final, groundbreaking and most famous symphonies. While the two movements of the “Unfinished” symphony in B Minor reach a level of perfection despite the work’s apparent incompleteness, Robert Schumann praised the “Great” symphony in C Major for its “heavenly length”. Janowski’s interpretation combines a sense of tradition with vitality and intensity.

Marek Janowski is one of the most celebrated conductors of our time. After having recorded Schubert songs in orchestrations by Reger and Webern with the tenor Christian Elsner in 2015, Janowski now adds this symphonic Schubert album to his impressive Pentatone discography, following complete recordings of Bruckner, Brahms and Beethoven’s symphonies, several works by Richard Strauss, as well as Wagner’s ten mature operas. He works together with the Dresdner Philharmonie, with whom he already released complete recordings of Beethoven’s Fidelio (2021), Puccini’s Il Tabarro and Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana (both 2020).

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 26, 2023

  • UPC: 8717306260657

  • Catalog Number: PTC5187065

  • Label: PENTATONE

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Franz Schubert

  • Conductor: Marek Janowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Dresdner Philharmonie

  • Performer: Dresdner Philharmonie