Skip to product information
1 of 2

Schmitt: La Tragedie de Salome & Chant elegiaque

Schmitt: La Tragedie de Salome & Chant elegiaque

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In 1907, Florent Schmitt composed music to accompany a ‘mimodrame’ danced by Loïe Fuller, La Tragédie de Salomé. His score is bursting with colour, energy, and voluptuousness – and also with oriental influences stemming from his travels to Morocco and Constantinople, where he discovered the howling dervishes. The final scene features the heart-rending ‘Chant d’Aïça’, an oriental melody sung by a soprano. This music, though bold and modern for the listeners of 1907, nonetheless aroused the admiration of another composer, Igor Stravinsky, to whom Schmitt dedicated the Symphonic Suite he subsequently derived from the work. However, Alain Altinoglu, at the helm of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra of which he has been Music Director since 2021, has chosen to record the original version of this landmark of early twentieth-century French music. The beautiful Chant élégiaque, in its 1911 version for cello and large orchestra, completes this programme.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 31, 2024

  • UPC: 3760014199417

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA941

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Florent Schmitt

  • Conductor: Alain Altinoglu

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Frankfurt Radio Symphony

  • Performer: Frankfurt Radio Symphony