Skip to product information
1 of 2

Sancta Ovetensis

Sancta Ovetensis

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Spanish baroque ensemble Forma Antiqva rescues forgotten masterpieces. The conductor and artistic director Aarón Zapico opens the musical treasury in the archives of Oviedo Cathedral and presents Spanish masterpieces of the 17th century to the world. Each individual work is a premiere recording, including six vocal pieces by Joaquín Lázaro (1746-1786) — the soprano Jone Martínez brings these love arias about the highest, divine love to life again — and two anonymous instrumental pieces and a violin concerto.

Forma Antiqva, conducted by Aarón Zapico, is one of the most outstanding baroque ensembles in Spain. Zapico places special work on the discovery of Spanish baroque music. The maestro unearths gems and performs them with his ensemble as if the ink were still wet on 17th-century sheet music. Very exciting!

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 04, 2022

  • UPC: 025091028320

  • Catalog Number: 910283-2

  • Label: Winter & Winter

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Joaquin Lazaro, Traditional

  • Conductor: Aaron Zapico

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Forma Antiqva

  • Performer: Jone Martinez