Skip to product information
1 of 1

Russian Piano Music Series, Vol. 14 - Prokofiev / Argentieri

Russian Piano Music Series, Vol. 14 - Prokofiev / Argentieri

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This is the second album in the Russian Piano series devoted to Prokofiev and includes his first and sixth Sonatas and other works demonstrating his wide ranging soundworld. His eclecticism has enabled him as a very ‘serious’ composer of post-Romantic, neo-tonal works - often modernistic and at times aggressive, to be appreciated by a wider general audience than many of his contemporaries. Stefania Argentieri is a young Italian pianist of consummate skill, necessary to give full expression to the music of Prokofiev. She has won many awards and has performed at prestigious events in Europe and the USA. She teaches at the Giordano Conservatory in Foggia and is also working as a music editor. Stefania has made recordings with her chamber ensemble and this is her first solo album, no doubt one of many for someone who has the brightest of futures.

“Young Italian pianist Stefania Argentieri makes a strong impression with both her technical confidence and her interpretive flexibility, providing confident, high-contrast performances that are more varied in perspective than those of many competitors in this repertoire. She certainly knows how to mine the Romantic underpinnings of this music and she can sing out Prokofiev’s lyricism with disarming. But there’s nothing weak about the playing: the climaxes are solid, the technical challenges surmounted. Argentieri shows herself to be a newcomer well worth your attention.”
– Peter J. Rabinowitz (Fanfare)
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 13, 2020

  • UPC: 809730515620

  • Catalog Number: DDA25156

  • Label: Divine Art

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Sergei, Prokofiev

  • Performer: Stefania Argentieri