Skip to product information
1 of 2

Rosner: Orchestral Music, Vol. 4

Rosner: Orchestral Music, Vol. 4

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The musical language of the New York-based Arnold Rosner (1945–2013) clothes the modal harmony and rhythm of pre-Baroque polyphony in rich Romantic colours, producing a style that is instantly recognisable and immediately appealing. This fourth Toccata Classics album of his orchestral music opens with an engaging and energetic early Scherzo and a Concerto Grosso that has something of the dignified reserve of the Swiss composer Frank Martin, whom Rosner much admired – as the broadly expressive Variations on a Theme by Frank Martin go on to show. Rosner’s A Mylai Elegy, a symphonic poem inspired by a massacre of civilians in Vietnam, has few equals in the orchestral repertoire: it veers from profound sadness to wild, freewheeling anger – protest music at its grandest and most passionate.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • UPC: 5060113447104

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0710

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Arnold Rosner

  • Conductor: Nick Palmer

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra