Skip to product information
1 of 1

Reinvere: Ship of Fools

Reinvere: Ship of Fools

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Juri Reinvere, born in Tallinn in 1971, is an Estonian composer with a passion for theology and psychology; he has also written poetry. His collaboration with Paavo Jarvi began in Parnu, the birthplace of the Estonian Festival Orchestra, in 2016. This programme begins with And tired from happiness, they started to dance, in which feverish rhythms are followed by moments of ecstasy. Debussy's music here comes to mind, as does the glistening brass in Bruckner's symphonies. This is followed by a playful double concerto for flute - Reinvere had studied the flute, and it was thanks to this that he was able to join a military band instead of fighting in the Soviet army. On the ship of fools is inspired by the key phrase of a 16th-century novel: Mundus vult decipi, ergo decipiatur (The world seeks to be deceived, therefore let it be deceived). "People deceive each other on Facebook and Instagram", comments Reinvere, whose music is both heady and troubling.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 24, 2024

  • UPC: 3701624510568

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA1056

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Juri Reinvere

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Estonian Festival Orchestra

  • Performer: Paavo Jarvi