Skip to product information
1 of 2

Chamber Music

Chamber Music

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This recording is a result of Alpaca Ensemble’s close collaboration with two living composers. Both write music that reflects on humanity's place in a world profoundly greater than us. In the first work on the recording, Karin Rehnqvist takes the listener into outer space, while on the last track Ellen Lindquist paints us a vast landscape. In the music of Karin Rehnqvist, esoterism, mythicism and tradition are fused together with modernism’s propensity for resistance and estrangement. At the same time, its dialogue with traditional music, liturgy, rituals and folklore and adherence to vocal musical practice, allows the music to break into open forms and address the listener very directly. The music is intrinsically linked to voices, language, movement and the body. In the music of Ellen Lindquist, individual instruments and parts merge into large, sonorous landscapes. The composer often works in tandem with other art forms such as dance, poetry, performance and music theatre. In these interdisciplinary constellations, her music is allowed to insist on what is particular to instrumental music compared to other art forms, on its abstract, permeable qualities, which those other disciplines can approach, but never really achieve.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 17, 2021

  • UPC: 7090020182469

  • Catalog Number: LWC1224

  • Label: Lawo

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ellen Lindquist, Karin Rehnqvist

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Alpaca Ensemble

  • Performer: Else Bø, Marianne Baudouin Lie, Rolf Borch