Skip to product information
1 of 2

Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2; Prelude In C# Minor

Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2; Prelude In C# Minor

Regular price $23.99 USD
Regular price $23.99 USD Sale price $23.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

John Wilson and Sinfonia of London release their second album of Rachmaninoff. The Second Symphony was mostly composed in Dresden – where Rachmaninoff was escaping the political and professional pressures of Russia – in 1906 – 07. An hour’s worth of music, the symphony is one of his largest works after the operas, and is widely viewed as one of his greatest works. It was possibly of some significance to the composer, following the less than auspicious début of his First Symphony (which he withdrew after the première). First performed in St Petersburg and Moscow, conducted by the composer, the Second Symphony was an immediate success with audiences and critics alike, and remains a mainstay of the orchestral repertoire to this day. Rachmaninoff dedicated the score to his teacher Sergei Taneyev, who was a pupil of Tchaikovsky. Rachmaninoff composed the Prélude in C sharp minor in 1892, originally for piano, at the beginning of his career. Stokowski’s orchestration, performed here, whilst not the only one in existence, is certainly the best known and arguably the most successful.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 07, 2023

  • UPC: 0095115530924

  • Catalog Number: CHSA 5309

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff

  • Conductor: John Wilson

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Sinfonia of London

  • Performer: Sinfonia Of London