Skip to product information
1 of 2

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto Nos. 2 & 3 / Simon, Slatkin, St. Louis Symphony

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto Nos. 2 & 3 / Simon, Slatkin, St. Louis Symphony

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Learn more about Elite Recordings and the revival of their VOX Classics albums on the Naxos Classical Spotlight Podcast!

Sergey Rachmaninoff's concertos for piano and orchestra continue to be his most successful compositions together with his second symphony. The piano concerto No. 3 belongs to the most demanding repertoire ever written for this genre. The composer himself cited it as his favorite. Abbey Simon was a pianist in the great Romantic tradition. His repertoire centered on Chopin, Schumann, Rachmaninoff and Ravel, and he had a virtuoso technique which he employed with effortless ease coupled with a smooth, clear sound. Internationally acclaimed conductor Leonard Slatkin has received not less than six GRAMMY-Awards and numerous other prizes and has conducted virtually all the leading orchestras in the world. The recordings of American orchestras produced for VOX by the legendary, GRAMMY-Award winning Elite Recordings team of Marc Aubort and Joanna Nickrenz are considered by audiophiles to be among the very finest sounding orchestral recordings ever made.


Pianist Abbey Simon who came onto the scene in the 1940s quickly established a reputation as one of the best musicians at the time. His interpretations of these two warhorses of the repertoire are refined, clear headed and devoid of any exaggerated mannerisms or hyperbole so common these days. Nonetheless, they prove highly sensitive to the emotive aspects of the music. There have been so many recordings of this music in the interim 45 years or so since then, that new pianists feel the need to impose their own personal stamp on the music in order to stand out from the crowd, to the detriment of the music itself.

-- Classical Music Sentinel (Jean-Yves Duperron)

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 24, 2023

  • UPC: 747313301485

  • Catalog Number: VOX-NX-3014CD

  • Label: Vox Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff

  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Abbey Simon