Skip to product information
1 of 1

Prokofiev: Milestones, Vol. 1 / Trotovšek, Canyigueral, Bizjak

Prokofiev: Milestones, Vol. 1 / Trotovšek, Canyigueral, Bizjak

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

SOMM RECORDINGS announces the first volume of Prokofiev Milestones, featuring three characterful sonatas and a sparkling arrangement of music from Romeo and Juliet performed by violinists Lana Trotovšek and Boris Bizjak (who also doubles on flute) accompanied by Maria Canyigueral on piano.

Prokofiev Milestones revealingly turns the focus away from the prolific composer’s famed orchestral works and celebrated ballets to his rich and varied chamber music.
First performed in 1943, the Sonata for Flute and Piano (Op.94) is, as Robert Matthew-Walker comments in his notes, “music not of war, but of peace”; a pastoral escape laced with wit and mischief vouchsafed within a pristine neo-classical frame. It is heard again, transformed, in Prokofiev’s own transcription for Violin and Piano (Op.94a). Composed soon after, it lays claim to being “one of the finest 20th-century works in the genre and a genuine masterpiece”.

The Sonata for Two Violins (Op.56) is heard in a new arrangement by Boris Bizjak that eloquently makes much of its sentimentality, drama and vitality.A characterful suite drawn from Romeo and Juliet, and arranged for violin and piano by Lidia Baich and Matthias Fletzberger, revels in Shakespeare’s great romance and Prokofiev’s ardent response to it.
Maria Canyigueral is making her SOMM Recordings debut. Lana Trotovšek and Boris Bizjak’s previous SOMM release was Hoffmeister’s Magic Flute (SOMMCD 0620) with the Piatti Quartet, of which Gramophone approvingly noted: “the challenge falls firmly on the performers… Bizjak, Trotovšek and their accomplices… meet the music’s technical demands admirably”.

View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Somm Recordings
    • UPC/Barcode: 748871067127
    • Item Number: SOMMCD 0671