Skip to product information
1 of 2

Poulenc: Les oeuvres de sa jeunesse

Poulenc: Les oeuvres de sa jeunesse

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Poulenc the miniaturist par excellence burst into public view, fully-formed in his late teens, emerging flamboyantly into the artistic swirl of 1920s Paris. His fabulously inventive, quirky and colourful approach to writing for chamber ensemble and voice comes vividly to life in this set of early works which capture all of his youthful elegance, wit, and occasionally sardonic humour. Many of these early masterpieces are now well-known in their incarnations for piano; but his sheer inventiveness and joyful revelry in a kaleidoscopic riot of instrumental colour is celebrated here in the earliest versions of such classics as Le Bestiaire and Cocardes, alongside masterpieces more cruelly treated by his contemporaries, the Quatre Poemes de Max Jacob and Le Gendarme Incompris.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 17, 2024

  • UPC: 5060262793749

  • Catalog Number: RES10333

  • Label: Resonus Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Francis Poulenc

  • Conductor: John Andrews

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Manchester Camerata

  • Performer: Sam Alexander, Soraya Mafi, Julien Van Mellaerts, Lawrence Zazzo