Skip to product information
1 of 1

Poulenc, Britten, Debussy: Concerto For 2 Pianos, Scottisch

Poulenc, Britten, Debussy: Concerto For 2 Pianos, Scottisch

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This cd contains two 20th century masterworks for 2 pianos and orchestra: the Scottish Ballad by Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) and the Concerto for 2 Pianos and Orchestra by Francis Poulenc.

The Concerto for two pianos and orchestra is one of the most famous pieces by Francis Poulenc (1899-1963). Here we find the summary of the author's style, which from the very first movement plays with formal elements, loosening the schemes of the traditional sonata form to adapt to that kaleidoscope which is his stylistic signature. From Javanese gamelan to Mozart's atmospheres, from the childish nursery rhyme to the passionate impulse, from primitive percussiveness to café chantant. Benjamin Britten wrote his Scottish Ballad in 1941. The works is rhapsodic in character and nostalgic in tone, exploring folkloristic material.

Concluding this program the piano duo plays the First Orchestral Suite by Debussy, in an arrangement for two pianos by the composer.

Mattia Ometto and Leonora Armellini are two young and brilliant Italian pianists. Their perfect pianistic ensemble brings out all the humour, wit and melancholy of these wonderful works for two pianos.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 20, 2020

  • UPC: 5028421961637

  • Catalog Number: BRI96163

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Britten, Debussy, Poulenc

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Duo Pianistico Di Padova, Orchestra Di Padova E Del Veneto

  • Performer: Piovano