Skip to product information
1 of 1

Portrait (Live) / Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Portrait (Live) / Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Regular price $53.99 USD
Regular price $53.99 USD Sale price $53.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In an interview about great conductors with the newspaper Die Welt in 2015, Sir Simon Rattle said of Mariss Jansons, “He’s the best of all of us!” This new release from BR-Klassik focuses on the career of Mariss Jansons, and contains a total of five albums offering a representative cross-section of the classical symphonic repertoire- as well as a cross-section of the repertoire for which the chief conductor of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks has been highly praised again and again for his outstanding interpretative qualities. Landmarks of great choral music can be found here, as well as milestones in symphonic development and select orchestral songs. The works range from music of the First Viennese School to early 20th-century late romanticism; from Haydn’s “Harmoniemesse” to the Minuet from Haydn’s Symphony Hob. I:88; from Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, Brahms’ Fouth Symphony and Mahler’s Ninth Symphony to Strauss’ Eine Alpensinfonie.


Jansons’ thoughtful interpretations are consistently clear and often profoundly insightful, and the playing of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra is impressive, whether in purely orchestral performances or with the Bavarian Radio Chorus in the Haydn and the Stravinsky. Considering Jansons’ high productivity, this set can only give a small sample of his many recordings, but fans who have yet to delve into his full repertoire will appreciate this package.

– AllMusic

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2018

  • UPC: 4035719001570

  • Catalog Number: BRK900157

  • Label: BR-KLASSIK

  • Number of Discs: 5

  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich, Edgard Varèse, Franz Joseph Haydn, Gustav Mahler, Igor Stravinsky, Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven, Richard Strauss

  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Choir, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Anja Harteros, Christian Elsner, Franz-Josef Selig, Judith Schmid, Malin Hartelius