Skip to product information
1 of 3

Piazzolla: Album For Astor

Piazzolla: Album For Astor

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

All my life I have admired, studied and performed the music of the extraordinary Argentinian composer, Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992). So, when I was offered the chance to publish a whole instrumental Piazzolla album of my own for the centenary of his birth, I decided to base my tribute solely on Piazzolla titles but… with a little something extra. I decided to design a varied and comprehensive listening experience - an hour of accordion solos, instrumental duos, and pieces that I arranged for accordion and a small ensemble as a tribute to the Master of Tango! The music is all Astor but with a touch of Bjarke here and there and maybe everywhere, in fact. There are no singers involved, but Piazzolla’s music sings, and our instruments sing, and at every corner there is melancholy, tripping feet, fast figures, and an atmosphere of Buenos Aires.” (Bjarke Mortense) All of Piazzolla’s more than 750 works are inextricably bound to an essential and unmistakable Argentinian identity. His output includes an opera, music for the theatre, film scores, concertos, chamber music and songs. He loved to startle the listener by spicing up his music with chromaticism, dissonance and abrupt surprises: yet Piazzolla paid homage to Johann Sebastian Bach on almost every page he ever wrote. In commemoration of the genius of Nuevo Tango the young Danish master of the modern accordion, Bjarke Mortensen and his friends serve up a true musical banquet that will satisfy all tastes.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 06, 2023

  • UPC: 0636943691625

  • Catalog Number: 8226916

  • Label: OUR Recordings

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Astor Piazzolla

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The Danish Chamber Players

  • Performer: Bjarke Mogensen, Johan Bridger, Mathias Heise, Svend Meldby, Som Howie, Gunnar Eckhoff, Stephane Tran Ngoc, Piotr Zelazny, Tobias Lautrup, Mette Franck, Jakob Westh