Skip to product information
1 of 3

Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Vol. 2

Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Vol. 2

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Nikolay Myaskovsky (1881–1950) was given the sobriquet of ‘the conscience of Russian music’ thanks to his dignified bearing and quiet wisdom – qualities reflected in the unemphatic strength of his music. His orchestral, chamber and instrumental works are regaining the currency they once enjoyed, but his large corpus of songs, many of them understated masterpieces, has yet to attract systematic attention – a situation this series hopes to remedy. This second album presents his entire output of songs for baritone and piano, most of them early works responding to Russian lyric poetry with the calm dignity typical of his compositions – though there is the occasional flash of passion.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 07, 2023

  • UPC: 5060113446671

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0667

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Nikolay Myaskovsky

  • Performer: Ilya Kuzmin, Dzambolat Dulaev, Olga Solovieva