Skip to product information
1 of 2

V12: Idil Biret Solo Edition

V12: Idil Biret Solo Edition

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In November 1949, at the age of eight, Idil Biret entered the studios of ORTF (Radiodiffusion Television Francaise) in Paris and made her first recordings; these were works by Couperin, Bach, Beethoven and Debussy. In the following decades she made nearly 100 LPs and CDs, released on ten record labels (Pretoria, Vega, Decca, Atlantic/Finnadar, Pantheon, EMI, Naxos, Marco Polo, Alpha, BMP) and many recordings for radio and television stations around the world. These included the complete piano works of Brahms, Chopin and Rachmaninov as well as the Sonatas of Boulez and the Etudes of Ligeti. The Idil Biret Archive (IBA) is now bringing together her past and present recording; as the copyrights are obtained, old recordings no longer available commercially are being released together with her new recordings. The current album features showcases her interpretations of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition and Glazunov’s Piano Sonata No. 2, recorded in March 2017, and Balakirev’s Islamey “Oriental Fantasy,” recorded in concert at the Lille Festival 1993.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 24, 2021

  • UPC: 747313134076

  • Catalog Number: 8571340

  • Label: Idil Biret Archive

  • Number of Discs: 0

  • Composer: Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov, Mily Alexeyevich Balakirev, Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky

  • Performer: Idil Biret