Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mozart: Piano Concertos, Vol. 9 / Bavouzet, Takács-Nagy, Manchester Camerata

Mozart: Piano Concertos, Vol. 9 / Bavouzet, Takács-Nagy, Manchester Camerata

Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price $22.99 USD Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The three concertos featured on this album were composed together in 1782 / 83 – shortly after Mozart had left his patron and position in Salzburg to establish himself as a freelance composer and performer in Vienna. The concertos were all performed by the composer in a series of subscription concerts that he gave in the city. All share the same form – opening movement in sonata form, slow movement in ternary form, and a bright rondo finale. Despite these similarities, though, each piece has its own distinct character and identity; such was the extent of Mozart’s genius for invention. Although formally scored for strings with wind, horns, trumpets, and timpani, Mozart also offered them to his publisher to be performed ‘a quatro’ – for strings only. These would be the last concertos he wrote in which this would be possible, and it is certainly likely that it reflected a need to earn greater income as opposed to being a purely artistic decision. As in the rest of this series, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet is joined by the Manchester Camerata and Gábor Takács-Nagy, who open the album with a dazzling performance of the Overture to Die Entführung aus dem Serail, which dates from the same period.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 08, 2024

  • UPC: 095115228623

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20286

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Gabor Takacs-Nagy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Manchester Camerata

  • Performer: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet