Skip to product information
1 of 2

V1: Complete Masses

V1: Complete Masses

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The occasion for the composition of Mozart’s Missa longa is still a matter of speculation, but the Mass remains an exceptional work with its elaborate choral writing, extended orchestration and dramatic changes. The symphonic qualities of the Coronation Mass reveal influences from Mozart’s travels in Paris and Mannheim, as well as a move towards a more operatic style – the memorable soprano solo of the Agnus Dei clearly anticipates the aria ‘Dove sono’ from Le nozze di Figaro. The richness and variety of this work ensures that it has deservedly remained one of Mozart’s most frequently performed Masses. Working with many top orchestras throughout Europe, North America, South America, and Asia, Christoph Poppen is currently principal conductor of the Cologne Chamber Orchestra and principal guest conductor of Hong Kong Sinfonietta. He is former artistic director of the Munich Chamber Orchestra, and former music director of the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern. Greatly sought-after as a pedagogue, he has been Professor of Violin and Chamber Music at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich since 2003 and was also appointed Professor of Violin Chair at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía Madrid in 2021.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 24, 2021

  • UPC: 747313427079

  • Catalog Number: 8574270

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Christoph Poppen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cologne Chamber Orchestra, Cologne West German Radio Chorus

  • Performer: Angelo Pollak, Carolina Ullrich, Konstantin Krimmel, Marie Henriette Reinhold