Skip to product information
1 of 2

Mozart: Chamber Music

Mozart: Chamber Music

Regular price $42.99 USD
Regular price $42.99 USD Sale price $42.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sigiswald Kuijken, one of the most important pioneers of the early music scene, celebrates his 80th birthday on 16 February 2024. As a musician, he was active in many fields and his vision went far beyond "classical violin playing". In addition to his main instrument, the violin, he also played the viola da gamba and the "shoulder cello" violoncello da spalla. Sigiswald Kuijken has recorded around 100 discs with his ensemble La Petite Bande. As a violinist, Sigiswald Kuijken has influenced generations of musicians: During his studies, he already focussed on baroque playing techniques and developed a milestone in historical violin playing without a support or chin rest, with the instrument resting freely on his shoulder. In addition to his interest in baroque music, Kuijken was also particularly fond of the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. To mark his anniversary, the ACCENT label is now bringing together all of Sigiswald Kuijken's Mozart chamber music recordings in an 8-CD box set. The recordings date from 1982 to 2021 and include Mozart's complete violin sonatas, as well as flute quartets, serenades, divertimenti and cassations.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • UPC: 4015023244016

  • Catalog Number: ACC 24401

  • Label: Accent

  • Number of Discs: 8

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: La Petite Bande

  • Performer: Sigiswald Kuijken, Luc Devos, Barthold Kuijken