Skip to product information
1 of 3

Monteverdi: Il Quarto Libro De Madrigali

Monteverdi: Il Quarto Libro De Madrigali

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Monteverdi’s Fourth Book of Madrigals, published in 1603 after an eleven-year gestation, bears witness to the metamorphosis of the madrigal and the rapid evolution of music at the turn of the two centuries. It is also a model of the genre and may be regarded as one of the most innovative and emblematic of its composer’s style. This bold, complex book is the culmination of the application of the precepts of the seconda pratica on the cusp of the seventeenth century. The dedication tells us that some of its madrigals had been intended for presentation to Duke Alfonso II d’Este (who died in 1597), thus revealing the key influence on this collection of the court of Ferrara, then one of the most sophisticated in Europe and a crucible of musical innovation. Following the release of the Vespers, Philippe Herreweghe, a great lover of Italy and its repertory, accompanied as ever by Collegium Vocale Gent, signs his second recording devoted to Monteverdi on the Phi label with this Fourth Book of Madrigals.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 13, 2022

  • UPC: 5400439000377

  • Catalog Number: LPH037

  • Label: Phi

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Renaissance

  • Composer: Claudio Monteverdi

  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent

  • Performer: Collegium Vocale Gent, Philippe Herreweghe