Skip to product information
1 of 2

Miracle of Miracles - Music for Hanukkah / Chicago A Cappella

Miracle of Miracles - Music for Hanukkah / Chicago A Cappella

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Chicago a cappella, the innovative vocal ensemble praised for its “clarity, well-balanced tone, and deep emotional involvement” (Washington Post), presents Miracle of Miracles: Music for Hanukkah, a new recording aimed at unveiling the richer meaning of the Festival of Lights, with music that ranges from heartfelt prayers to jazzy and playful holiday favorites, showcasing the creativity and vitality of American Jewish musical traditions.

The album features a collection of songs from more than 25 years of Chicago a cappella performances, arranged into a single program that replays the story of Hanukkah, from celebrations of the holiday itself through to its candles, miracles, religious observances, and traditional food and games. Collectively in search of Hanukkah songs from different Jewish traditions and communities, seven living composers / arrangers/musicians including Robert Applebaum, Gerald Cohen, Joshua Fishbein, Elliot Z. Levine, Jonathan Miller, Daniel Tunkel, and Mark Zuckerman bring fresh perspectives to songs celebrating the miracle of light.

Rich with liturgical and folk melodies, Miracle of Miracles demonstrates a keen sensitivity to both biblical and modern Hebrew, as well as Yiddish elements (and English) intertwined with American jazz and popular styles. The vocal network represented on this album fully encompasses the traditions of Hanukkah across the Diaspora and Jewish history. Works include Robert Applebaum’s stirring version of “Haneirot Halalu” and movements from the majestic “Hallel Cantata” by London-based Daniel Tunkel. Other familiar tunes include arrangements of “I am a Little Dreydl” both in its traditional Yiddish form, as arranged by Zuckerman, and in a neo-funk Hebrew/English setting titled “Funky Dreidl” arranged by Applebaum; a swing version of “S’vivon” by Steve Barnett; and a lively setting of the traditional melody for “Al HaNisim” (“For the Miracles”) by Levine.

View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs:
    • Release Date:
    • Label:
    • UPC/Barcode: 735131922524
    • Item Number: CDR 225