Skip to product information
1 of 2

Meyer: Works For Violin & Piano; 2 Sonatas For Violin Solo

Meyer: Works For Violin & Piano; 2 Sonatas For Violin Solo

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Kolja Lessing dedicates this recording to Krzysztof Meyer on the occasion of the composer’s eightieth birthday in 2023. Meyer, one of the most important Polish composers of his generation, taught for many years as professor of composition at the Cologne College of Music and numbers among the important bridge-builders between Polish and German cultural life. As a pupil of Krzysztof Penderecki and Nadia Boulanger, he remarkably manages to integrate important communicative elements into an avant-garde musical language of great suggestive power and narrative charm. In the works written over a period of more than 40 years, Meyer proves himself to be an expert with profound knowledge of the technical possibilities of the violin. Kolja Lessing and Rainer Maria Klaas’s interpretations, developed with the composer, captivate by means of their authenticity, by dint of their deep understanding of a music that is both expressive and euphonious, and through which a distinguished, deeply humanistic personality speaks.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 12, 2024

  • UPC: 840387100494

  • Catalog Number: EDA 49

  • Label: EDA Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Krzysztof Meyer

  • Performer: Kolja Lessing, Rainer Maria Klaas