Skip to product information
1 of 2

Mendelssohn, Beethoven, Brahms, Hindemith, Liszt & Saint-Sae

Mendelssohn, Beethoven, Brahms, Hindemith, Liszt & Saint-Sae

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Greatest ever Danish pianist in concert - His activities as a soloist and his increasingly comprehensive work as a teacher were central to his ?nal years from about 1950 until his death in 1967. Here I am thinking not only of his teaching as a professor at the conservatoire, but even more of his efforts to stimulate and encourage interest in classical music. One of his tools was television. TV was completely new. Many people were interested in it, and in Denmark only one channel was available. This was Danmarks Radio, which only transmitted a few hours daily. It opened up a unique opportunity for Schiøler to gain access to “the general public” in this way. There were many broadcasts which had the title “About the Piano” in common. In this series the sound track of Schubert’s Wanderer Fantasy has already been included in Vol 4. Besides the music, viewers could also hear Schiøler’s eloquent, inspiring and appealing introductions. Volume 6 also includes an example from these broadcasts. Schiøler introduces and talks about Saint-Saëns’ Variations for two pianos on a theme of Beethoven. The theme is the trio from the minuet in the Sonata in E?at, op. 31 no. 3. The variations make considerable demands on the two pianists, who constantly cast little bits of the theme to each other which they then have to grab in such a way that it never affects the pulse and continuity of the music. It demands perfect synchronization between the two players, here Schiøler and his pupil Peter Westenholz (1937 – 2008). And it is a joy to listen to them playing together! The recording was made in Schiøler’s own home on his two Hornung og Møller concert grands.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • UPC: 5709499962633

  • Catalog Number: DACOCD962-963

  • Label: Danacord Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn,Ludwig van Beethoven,Johannes Brahms,Paul Hindemith,Franz Liszt,Camille Saint-Saens

  • Conductor: Erik Tuxen,Carl von Garaguly,Albert Wolff

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Victor Schioler,Ib Eriksson,Peter Westenholz