Skip to product information
1 of 2

Mayseder: Violin & Piano Thomas Christian, Sina Kloke

Mayseder: Violin & Piano Thomas Christian, Sina Kloke

Regular price $36.99 USD
Regular price $36.99 USD Sale price $36.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Joseph Mayseder took part in a performance of Joseph Haydn’s oratorio “The Seven Last Words” in 1803 when he was only 14 years old. In later years, he played in numerous Viennese orchestras, including under the direction of Beethoven and Schubert, and was concertmaster of the Vienna Court Orchestra from 1830. He composed numerous violin works and chamber music at a young age, primarily for his own performance. Mayseder’s compositions were performed in thousands of concerts worldwide in the 19th century, including by artists such as Henri Vieuxtemps, Joseph Hellmesberger, Franz Liszt and Giovanni Bottesini; however, they are still considered an forgotten gems today. Vienna-based violinist Thomas Christian, who has already released recordings of the violin concerto and virtuoso works with string quartet by Joseph Mayseder, presents a cross-section of Mayseder’s works for violin and piano on this double CD with the versatile pianist Sina Kloke. The works, all world premiere recordings, range from variations on opera arias to polonaises and fantasies to duos for violin and piano. The combination of virtuosity and unmistakable Viennese charm plays a central role in the interpretation of Mayseder’s oeuvre.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 22, 2024

  • UPC: 9003643992900

  • Catalog Number: GRAM99290

  • Label: Gramola Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Joseph Mayseder

  • Performer: Thomas Christian, Sina Kloke