Skip to product information
1 of 2

Marteau: Complete Works for String Quartet, Vol. 2

Marteau: Complete Works for String Quartet, Vol. 2

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

FonoForum termed Vol. 1 in our series with Henri Marteau’s works for string quartet “a highly welcome addition to the as yet much too small Marteau discography.” At long last we now are following up with Vol. 2, which includes the Clarinet Quintet op. 13 ranking as his best-known work and the String Quartet No. 1. In his first quartet Marteau presents an ambitious work in which he explores how to bring his personal style into harmony with this genre. He draws on German and French Romantic tradition and on his great models from music history and experiments with compositional-technical forms and structural elements. To date, not a single renowned quartet ensemble has risen to the challenge of recording this work, and in the concert literature it is also practically not at all represented. It is hardly a coincidence that Marteau had the clarinet quintets of Mozart and Brahms very much in mind when he wrote his Clarinet Quintet op. 13. From the very beginning Mozart and Brahms played an important role in his career. Here too the Belgian clarinetist Jean-Michel Charlier and the Isasi Quartet show Marteau’s French and German sound worlds in perfect harmony.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 07, 2020

  • UPC: 761203512928

  • Catalog Number: 555129-2

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Henri Marteau

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Isasi Quartet

  • Performer: Charlier