Skip to product information
1 of 2

Mahler: Symphony No. 6 Symphonieorchester Des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Mahler: Symphony No. 6 Symphonieorchester Des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Regular price $15.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $15.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Among Simon Rattle's first concert programs as the new chief conductor of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra was Gustav Mahler's Sixth Symphony. The performances marked the beginning of a new chapter in Mahler interpretation, for Rattle, like his predecessors Jansons, Maazel and Kubelík, is an ardent admirer of the composer. BR-KLASSIK has now released the live recording of the concerts.

Gustav Mahler's Sixth Symphony is perhaps the darkest work he ever wrote – its nickname is "The Tragic". And there is something almost destructive about the final movement. "But strangely enough," says Simon Rattle, "it is also a very classical symphony. Yes, it is extreme, but for long stretches it is less wild than other works of his – although of course it does convey a harrowing message. But it's like a lot of great works: there are always different ways of reading them. I've been conducting the Sixth for forty years now, and over time I’ve come to realise that it also contains hope."

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 01, 2024

  • UPC: 4035719002171

  • Catalog Number: BRK900217

  • Label: BR-KLASSIK

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler

  • Conductor: Simon Rattle

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks