Skip to product information
1 of 2

Luzzaschi: Il Concerto Segreto

Luzzaschi: Il Concerto Segreto

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

An exceptional amount of musical activity took place in the court of Ferrara during the latter years of the 16th century, in particular thanks to a remarkable trio of female voices who had been trained by Luzzasco Luzzaschi, the court’s maestro di cappella. To hear them was a privilege that Alfonso d' Este allowed his guests only briefly and infrequently. Their repertoire was kept secret and was finally published — and then only in part — in 1601. The singers of La Néréide here devote their first recording to this collection in its entirety, reconstructing the conditions in which these works were created with harpsichord, viol and lute accompaniment: the harpsichord would have been played by Luzzaschi himself, whilst the three singers mastered the other instruments with as much skill as their voices.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 08, 2023

  • UPC: 5400439004559

  • Catalog Number: RIC455

  • Label: Ricercar

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Renaissance, Baroque

  • Composer: Luzzasco Luzzaschi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: La Nereide

  • Performer: Camille Allerat, Julie Roset, Ana Vieira Leite