Skip to product information
1 of 2

Loewe: Jan Hus [2 CDs]

Loewe: Jan Hus [2 CDs]

Regular price $25.99 USD
Regular price $25.99 USD Sale price $25.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In 1841, Carl Loewe created his oratorio about the Bohemian theologian Jan (or Johann) Hus (or Huss) as a kind of "opera without a scene". A good 100 years before the appearance of the reformer Martin Luther, Hus had taken a hard stance on the official church and was burned at the stake on July 6, 1415 in Constance after being condemned by the council. Carl Loewe created the work to a libretto by August Zeune and premiered it on December 16, 1841 in and with the Berliner Singakademie. The rarely performed work deserves more attention and is now finally available in a premiere recording with the Arcis Vocalisten and the Baroque Orchestra L'arpa festante conducted by Thomas Gropper.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 21, 2023

  • UPC: 4260330917201

  • Catalog Number: OC1720

  • Label: Oehms Classics

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Carl Loewe

  • Performer: Monika Mauch, Ulrike Malotta, Georg Poplutz, Dominik Worner, Arcis-Vocalisten Munchen, Barockorchest