Skip to product information
1 of 1

Lloyd: The Piano Concertos

Lloyd: The Piano Concertos

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
If the first three piano concertos have the heft and communicative power of Lloyd's larger middle-period symphonies, the Fourth has a close affinity to the Ninth Symphony, which was completed the previous year. Both pieces exhibit an impish sense of fun, tempered by profound feelings of yearning and regret. George Lloyd approached the piano concerto form with imagination and individuality. His idiomatic solo writing avoids shallow virtuosity and empty rhetoric and there are no mighty tussles between piano and orchestral forces encountered in archetypal large-scale concertante scores. Instead, the composer offers a series of deeply personal attempts to reconcile time-honoured elements of display with symphonic preoccupations of long-range tonality, rhythmic energy and melodic growth. In sum, Lloyd's four piano concertos constitute a compelling and distinctive branch of his creative legacy. � Paul Conway
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 21, 2024

  • UPC: 5020926242129

  • Catalog Number: SRCD2421

  • Label: Lyrita

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: George Lloyd

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bbc Philharmonic, London Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Martin Roscoe, Kathryn Stott