Skip to product information
1 of 1

Live At The Berlin Philharmonic / Sarah Vaughan, Veit, Mancuso, Pucci

Live At The Berlin Philharmonic / Sarah Vaughan, Veit, Mancuso, Pucci

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Never before entirely released concert recorded on 9 November 1969 at the Berlin Philharmonie. These emotionally intense concerts are all the more remarkable because of the artists high wire act, a balance constantly maintained throughout between her professional savoir faire (a vocal technique at the apex of her art and her interpretive skills) and her emotional abandonment to the moment as she gives her all. The entire performance, with Vaughan pouring out her heart, seems in hindsight at once perfectly timeless in terms of its formal classicism yet thoroughly in the fleeting moment. At the end of the day, these recordings are invaluable. As Vaughan explores the most lyrical, emotional aspects of her art, she overwhelms her listeners as she bares her soul. Her virtuosity in using her imagination to deploy all her technical skills and the extraordinary range of her tessitura are restrained rather than ostentatious. She literally reaches the stars and gives us a unique lesson in music as a form of the art of living.


  • Charles Strouse, Lee Adams: A Lot of Livin' to Do
  • Lennon & McCartney: And I Love Him
  • Bacharach: Alfie
  • Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner: On a Clear Day
  • Mel Mitchell, Stanley Applebaum, Rita Mann: Passing Strangers
  • Erroll Garner, Johnny Burke: Misty
  • Gus Arnheim, Abe Lyman, Arthur Freed: I Cried for You
  • Rodgers, R: Babes in Arms: My Funny Valentine
  • Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons: All of Me
  • Walter Gross, Jack Lawrence: Tenderly
  • Howard, B: Fly Me to the Moon
  • Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne: Time After Time
  • Martin, Hugh: The Trolley Song (from Meet Me in St Louis)
  • Webb, Jimmy: By The Time I Get To Phoenix
  • Rodgers, R: No Strings: The Sweetest Sounds
  • Jimmy van Heusen, / Johnny Burke: Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  • Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer: Day in, Day Out
  • Gilbert Bécaud, Pierre Delanoë, Carl Sigman: What Now, My Love
  • Jack Lawrence, Stan Freeman: I Had a Ball
  • Webb, Jimmy: Didn't We?
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 21, 2021

  • UPC: 0194398732428

  • Catalog Number: TLR 2004037

  • Label: The Lost Recordings

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Charles Strouse, Lee Adams, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Burt Bacgarach, Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner, Mel Mitchell, Stanley Applebaum, Rita Mann, Erroll Garner, Johnny Burke, Gus Arnheim, Abe Lyman, Arthur Freed, Richard Rodgers, Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons, Walter Gross, Jack Lawrence, Bart Howard, Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne, Hugh Martin, Ralph Blaine, Jimmy Webb, Jimmy van Heusen, Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer, Gilbert Bécaud, Pierre Delanoë, Carl Sigman, Jack Lawrence, Stan Freeman

  • Performer: Sarah Vaughan