Skip to product information
1 of 2

Leiviskä: Piano Concerto, Op. 7, Symph. No. 1 [2 CDs]

Leiviskä: Piano Concerto, Op. 7, Symph. No. 1 [2 CDs]

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price $24.99 USD Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The piano concerto in D minor was composed between 1931–1935 and premiered on November 23, 1935, by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Toivo Haapanen, with Ernst Linko as the soloist. The concerto is preserved only as a piano reduction and instrument parts, but the original score is lost. The piano part contains several cuts and facilitations by the 1935 soloist, while the instrument parts show no omissions. The most probable result was that the orchestra played some passages without the soloist.

For this recording, Leiviskä’s original solo part was restored. Several reviews, mostly under pseudonyms, discussed the symphony after its first performance. The reviews were mostly favorable. It was both praised and criticized for its structure and the inclusion of the waltz motive, and comments of the themes and melodies were also ambiguous. After 1948, the symphony was performed three more times until 1951. After 70 years of silence, the symphony was resurrected in 2022.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 01, 2023

  • UPC: 881488230505

  • Catalog Number: HC23050

  • Label: Hänssler & Profil

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Helvi Leiviska

  • Conductor: Ari Rasilainen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Staatskapelle Weimar

  • Performer: Oliver Triendl