Skip to product information
1 of 2

Langgaard: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 6 - Gade: Tango Jalousie

Langgaard: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 6 - Gade: Tango Jalousie

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Rued Langgaard (1893–1952) was a major Danish late-Romantic composer who did not gain recognition in his mother country. His greatest successes took place in Germany and Austria, where his Symphonies Nos. 2 and 6 were met with considerable acclaim. Back home, he never received that kind of backing and praise. He died a careworn and despairing individual. On this recording with one of the world’s leading orchestras, the tradition-conscious Vienna Philharmonic, one is therefore able to hear Langgaard's music 'return home' to a central European musical culture. At the same time things were going swimmingly for his colleague Jacob Gade (1879–1963) whose ‘Tango Jalousie’ has become the absolutely most frequently played piece of Danish music for almost a century. The two pieces are juxtaposed here to create a delightful programme.



Oramo and the Vienna Philharmonic [take] on two contrasted works by Rued Langgaard that illuminate this composer in all his stylistic diversity and recklessness. Such an idiom should be in this orchestra’s blood and the VPO do not disappoint – whether in the lyrically effulgent initial movement, with its discreetly modified sonata form, or the lithe finale. A mandatory purchase for its interpretative insights, committed playing and tangibly realistic sound.

– Gramophone
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 07, 2018

  • UPC: 747313165360

  • Catalog Number: 6220653

  • Label: Dacapo

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Jacob Gade, Rued Langgaard

  • Conductor: Sakari Oramo

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Anu Komsi